A Week of Wordliness

January 16, 2011 § Leave a comment

And so, another week, and a delightfully wordly one.

In blog land, we discussed the benefits – or otherwise – of combining the fantasy novel genre with overexposure to Riverdance. We also discovered that I cannot write fantasy. Disappointing.

My book haul this week was princely. The highlights were The House of the Stag, by Kage Baker, The Winter of Enchantment by Victoria Walker, Good Omens by Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett and The Harlequin’s Dance by Tom Arden. The House of the Stag is a prequel to The Anvil of the World, which I particularly recommend to any fantasy reader with a taste for ironic humour. Kage Baker is fantastic.

The greatest song in the world this week is ‘Better than Neil’, written by the Whedon brothers and sung by Nathan Fillion. Who I love, worship and adore, and who can blame me. If you saw Dr. Horrible’s Sing-Along Blog but didn’t get the DVD, you may have missed the DVD extra: ‘Commentary: the Musical’. This is exactly as it says: DVD commentary by the cast and crew presented as an audio-only musical. Start with Better than Neil, then try the rest.

I want to share a few blogs that I’ve regularly enjoyed reading over the last few weeks:

What Not to do as a Writer – a blog about writing (really?) taking the innovative approach of discussion through cataloguing mistakes. It’s humorous. I love it.

The Byronic Man – a very funny blog written by a comedian.

Scenes from a Dream – about writing, occasionally poetry (that I like, how cool is that?), good music and musings.

All of the above are now permanently immortalised (at least for now) in my links list to the right.

As for my novel, I haven’t given up yet. Surprised? So am I.

Word count this week: approx. 5642

Total word count to date: approx. 18018

And now for the fun part: a weirdly cute, furry animal.

Thank you for reading Words About Words this week, and for commenting and liking posts. If you enjoy my blog, please keep it up – and feel free to share it with others!

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A Week of Wordliness at Words About Words.

meta

