England Again

February 28, 2011 § 2 Comments

 

Frouse and Oryx: Intrepid Adventurers

I and my fellow travellers, Frouse and Oryx (pictured) have returned from the wilds of Holland.

We drank strange Dutch tea, looked at a lot of aged objects and took pictures of sheep.

Outlandish Dutch sheep stuffing their faces in Castricum.

We also wrote quite a bit, and (unwisely) re-read ‘Wives and Daughters’ on the Kindle. This was unwise because I was inevitably smoten anew with the desire to write historical fiction (again), when I am about 35k words into a piece of fantasy fiction. Curses.

I shall not do this, however. Instead I shall embark upon a miniature NaNoWriMo through March, with fine company from Andy of sfad, and see if I can reach about 65k by April. I may then begin to feel like the end is vaguely in sight.

If anyone else wants to do a mini-NaNoWriMo with a bit of company, let us know. There’ll be periodic posts and virtual tea, plus suitable group commiserations over the misery of the process. It’ll be fun.

Meanwhile, I shall assuage my desire to write historical fiction by doing some short pieces for my Open University course. I have to do a large project to round it off with, and I’ve decided upon writing a screenplay for a 30-minute film set in the 1840s. More about that as it develops.

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ 2 Responses to England Again

  • saradeurell says:

    I could definitely benefit from a mini-NaNo in March/April. I’ve got my NaNo draft from November, but it’s (a) not as long as it needs to be for full novel length and (b) insufficiently fleshed out. So I have a lot of adding to do, and much need for motivation at present. Virtual or no, chats over tea with fellow writer are always welcome in my world. 🙂

    • Charlotte says:

      Great, I would definitely love some more company on this NaNo trek! You are just in time – we got started only yesterday. My own goal is a minimum of 30k this month and (hopefully) the same in April. The plan is to blog periodically about progress-to-date, & to share thoughts, ideas and general encouragement. Good writing!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading England Again at Words About Words.

meta

