My Fiftieth

April 3, 2011 § 4 Comments

Post, that is.

FIFTEEEE.

I started this blog in October of last year. My early posts probably demonstrate the fact that I had no idea what I was doing, or even what I was trying to do. I started blogging with nothing but a confused, vague idea of trying it out. I don’t think I envisaged writing fifty posts at all, let alone within a few months.

Blogging certainly takes up quite a bit of my time each week, time which sometimes can be hard to find. I’ve kept it up, though, because it proved to be a lot of fun. And the main reason it’s fun is because of the people who read and comment! There have been some great discussions taking place on here, and on the other great blogs I’ve discovered as a result of being a blogger myself. (How many times can I fit the word ‘blog’ in here? A couple more, I’m sure).

Thank you, dear visitors, for reading and sharing your thoughts. Thanks especially to those of you who are kind enough to visit regularly. It brightens my day, every time.

Now then, this blog (!!) has focused almost solely on writing for most of that time, albeit sometimes in a roundabout kind of way. I want to broaden the focus, just a little, particularly to include more topics about juicy, delicious, glorious books.

For one, I have been digging through a lot of self-published/indie-published e-books lately. I intend to periodically post collected reviews of those I particularly like. It’s hard being an author going it alone, and when I find good stuff I want to share it.

I also want to spotlight authors of all kinds (self-, indie- or traditionally-published) whose work I admire; especially those authors who don’t get as much acclaim, or as many readers, as I think they deserve.

Writers tend to be avid readers as well, so I hope these new areas of discussion won’t be dull to those of you who visit for the writing topics. I’m afraid I can’t help it, though. To talk books is a compulsion. I was tempted to begin another blog just for reviewing, but I really don’t have time. Therefore ‘Words About Words’ shall become a beast of more variegated colours! And hopefully this will help me to keep things interesting while I tackle the next fifty posts.

Anyway, you may have noticed that this, really and truly, is a short post! It’s not even five hundred words! I know this is unusual for me. Enjoy it while it lasts, for I daresay I shall soon become impossibly verbose once again.

Tagged: ,

§ 4 Responses to My Fiftieth

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading My Fiftieth at Words About Words.

meta

