Operation Draft Novel: Accomplished

May 21, 2011 § 12 Comments

I realise I’ve dropped off the Blogland map a bit lately, especially this week. No post in an entire seven days? How reprehensible.

The truth is, when I sat down to proceed with the noble work-in-progress early this week I realised that The End was In Sight. I could definitely see dry land ahead. Naturally, therefore, I ended up getting into a jolly little race with myself and gaily gave up all thought of blogging, eating or sleeping until I’d written the final scenes.

That occurred early on Friday afternoon. Since then I’ve mostly been sleeping. (I’m not even kidding about that. I think I’ve had more sleep over the past night than I did all week). I had an immediate attack of insecurity after I’d finished the thing, because it came out at about 92k words. I thought, cripes, should it be longer?ย But since I have to get all the way through editing yet I guess it’s a bit early to worry about that.

Speaking of which, how long is it likely to take to thoroughly edit 92k words of fiction? Who knows. Given that a lot of it has already been heavily revised I’m hoping I won’t be here till December reworking the rest. But it’ll take as long as it takes. I have a couple of angelic people lined up to help with the editing process (thank you, folks). There’s the cover to think about, a synopsis to write and a title to pick (I’ve been using a working title all this time with the faint hope that some perfect title would occur to me along the way, but of course it hasn’t). And I have to figure out how to format everything. In short, there’s an awful lot yet to do, but the initial (staggeringly enormous) challenge of finishing the draft was actually a blast. I’m pretty sure I’ll enjoy the rest, too.

Anyway this has been a short yet terrifically self-indulgent post during which I’ve done nothing but gloat, but I hope you’ll forgive me for that. I’m going to scoot back to enjoying the wave of euphoria and catching up on my sleep. And hey, since I have to make myself leave the thing alone for a couple of weeks before I start editing, perhaps I’ll have time to post a bit more frequently again. But in the meantime…

On with the cake and stuffed animals!

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

§ 12 Responses to Operation Draft Novel: Accomplished

  • mjcache says:

    A well deserved congrats and I enjoyed the update on your work.

  • Lissa says:

    Well done on your first draft, Charlotte, it is quite an achievement. I hope you enjoy editing as much as you’ve enjoyed writing it.

  • Andy says:

    Congratulations!!! I would love to read your draft/novel when it is ready!

  • DarcKnyt says:

    Congratulations, Charlotte! Job well done!

    Sit back and enjoy this for a bit. Write hot, but edit cool. Remember editing is, in general, subtractive –unless, of course, you’re a pantser, which means you don’t have all the proper milestones of story structure in place yet. Heh.

    Have a good time with the editing process, and again, congratulations!

  • Christopher says:

    Awesome. Best of luck with editing. I love that part of writing. Feel free to get in touch if you need another beta-reader down the road.

  • aarongraham says:

    CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I know how hard that is.

  • Ellie says:

    Yaaaaaaaay!!!!! So pleased for you!

  • Congratulations on completing the draft.

  • Charlotte says:

    Thank you for the congratulations, everyone! Too kind. It’s a truly huge thing for me so I appreciate the good wishes.

  • DarcsFalcon says:

    Somebody once said, “There is no great writing, only great re-writing.”

    Wise words!

    Have fun with the edits! It can be an awfully fun process if you let it. ๐Ÿ™‚

    I hope that was chocolate cake! ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • Charlotte says:

      It wasn’t chocolate cake, but that’s a marvellous idea. I have the greatest recipe for chocolate muffins that’s begging to be given some love and attention again. Off to the kitchen… ๐Ÿ˜‰

      And thanks. I’m going to get started this week in a slow way – an hour a day for a bit – and see how it goes. I’ll try to remember those wise words – it ought to be fun!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Operation Draft Novel: Accomplished at Words About Words.

meta

